Sleep No More

Sleep No More

Creep. Whisper. Seek. In the darkness, look my darling. May the dancers hold your gaze as I slither by. No questions now, that comes later. Drops of blood will spill, and you’ll get your fill. But first, be patient.

Let the muffled phonograph guide you, the jazz is all consuming. Watch as the hearts fly, and the ghosts follow. Hollow is their mission, but if you don’t run you will decay. Her soul is now consumed, as her flailing limbs takeover. But her journey is far from over.

You won’t hear the screams of some, they will just disappear under the covers. While others will perish violently, as the contents of their veins desert them. You may wear your mask, but don’t think for a second I won’t find you.

I’ll hold your wrists while she cradles your face. Inspection is important, especially in the presence of something fresh. Who are you? Why are you here? Pale complexion, with unblinking eyes. You’re terrifying. Curse this disorder.

I stole his wife’s last breath, vengeance is nigh. Twist and pull tight, let the coiled strands guide me into the light. There will be no sleep for you tonight.

13989451_10202132947360743_1867933441_n

I don’t know when I wrote this, but I’m assuming it was on the cab ride back to the hotel after seeing Sleep No More. I just stumbled across it in my iPhone Notes. Forgive me for the lack of context, and purpose. But this blog has never really had one.

This play was truly remarkable and transcending. It makes you think in twisted ways as the terminal madness overcomes the characters. It’s not for the faint hearted, but it’s also something you shouldn’t miss.

 

 

Leave a Reply

