Midnight Thoughts: Who do you envy?

Think for a second, who do you envy? And please stop if any of your answers include the Kardashian’s or Dan Bilzerian. No, I mean honest to christ people who you idolise. Today I spent probably an hour compiling a list of people, and the results were quite revealing. In most cases, people who we admire possess the things we, ourselves are insecure about. But, more importantly, it reveals what you want out of life. For me, calculating the future has been my biggest trial. When people ask what I want to do with my life, I can’t give them a straight answer. I have no fucking clue. But, I’m getting closer to the answer.

CaraInstagram

Today, I found out I envy the creatives, and the eternally lost. My Instagram feed consists of professional travellers, and individuals with a never-ending list of projects like Lena Dunham. No matter what time of the day, they’re doing something new, whether it be writing television programs, or sampling a hip-hop class. For them, the same equals mundane.

By compiling this list, you can derive common threads. From mine I determined that I admire women who have worked hard for their position; people who found their purpose; creatives, who discover hidden niches; and most importantly, people who travel. Envy can be a pillar in your future, and like fear can be used to your advantage. It can inspire and direct you. So, if you’re struggling to find your own path like me, give this a go.

Leave a Reply

