Let’s Go

Over the decade I’ve become addicted to the adrenalin rush of new experiences. Life seems like is a constant tick list: go to New York, try that new bar or see that popular band. A state of complete wanderlust.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 4_Fotor

At the age of 14 I had an illustrious runaway plan to escape the teen reality. I trapped in a high school that I hated (with a passion that is yet to be rivalled) and had an awkward haircut that took 4 years to grow out. So after having dog-eared a day on my calendar, the plan was set: get a bankcard and bail to the International Terminal. From there I would be on a flight to one of 41 places. Gaining actual worldly experience just made more sense to me at the time.

What I didn’t know then was that this craving and restlessness could actually be genetic. According to recent scientific research this feeling is embedded in my DNA in a gene known as DRD4-7R. It’s believed to produce high levels of curiosity. The gene itself is quite uncommon, only belonging to 20% of the population. So it’s understandable why many of us are content to stay in the same city and follow a routine.

Sure there is mass contention surrounding the gene with several scientists claiming that the body only consists of brains and limbs, not genes that have the capacity to cause such emotions. For my sake though, I hope the wanderlust gene is real. That way I can use the excuse, “I can’t help it, it’s genetic.”

Leave a Reply

